Post settings - Unnecessary? option

  • App
    WoltLab Suite Forum

    I'm trying to find the reason but I don't understand. In post settings there are two options: Show edit note and Remove edit note. If I understood correctly, the second option removes the first option. Am I right?

    If the first option Show edit note is a checkbox I think the other option is unnecessary. Unselecting Show edit note the note should be removed.

  • I'm trying to find the reason but I don't understand. In post settings there are two options: Show edit note and Remove edit note. If I understood correctly, the second option removes the first option. Am I right?

    If the first option Show edit note is a checkbox I think the other option is unnecessary. Unselecting Show edit note the note should be removed.

    I believe the 2nd option is to remove any previous edit note.

    ideally, you shouldn't check both of these at the same time.

  • I believe the 2nd option is to remove any previous edit note.

    ideally, you shouldn't check both of these at the same time.

    I'm doing tests and don't understand the utility of the second option. Remove edit note doesn't remove previous notes and doesn't remove the edit reason in the text box.

    video.mp4

    Edited 2 times, last by Aethior (June 30, 2023 at 8:59 PM).

  • Hi @Netzwerg :)

    If the Show edit note option is selected the “Post edited by …” note is shown. If Remove edit note option is selected the “Post edited by …” note is removed. Am I right? Two options for show or no show the note?

    • Show edit note Opt-in to show the edit note, only available if you have the permission to "silently" edit a post
    • Remove edit note Opt-in to remove an existing edit note

    Remove edit note is similar to current Hide edit note? You can check in my video that the text (edit reason) doesn't disappear from text box.Only removes “Post edited by …” note in the post.

  • I'm sorry, but I think you seem misdirected. If there is no "Post edited by …" note, then checking to remove/hide it will not do anything (there is nothing to remove). The notice for saved revisions is ALWAYS visible if you have the required permissions and cannot be toggled.

Participate now!

Don’t have an account yet? Register yourself now and be a part of our community!